Home > General > Waze – Part I

Waze – Part I

Repeating excellence, for me, applies to every aspect of my life–not just work. I want to be excellent at everything I do: husband, father, project manager, etc. I am constantly on the look out for tools that will aid me in that quest. I may have stumbled across such a tool.
Today I am traveling “north” about 250 miles. There will be winter driving conditions such as blowing snow and ice. I have only been to my destination once that I can remember, and it was a very long time ago. The memory is very faint. Not happy with the map app that came bundled with Padison, I sought a higher form of navigation.
I used a MapQuest app on my former phone, an HTC Hero, Android. So, I downloaded MapQuest to my iPhone and fiddled with it a bit. I’m not overwhelmed by it. One of the reviewers actually recommended Waze. I perceive it as the marriage of MapQuest and Twitter with Wikipedia performing the ceremony.
Waze has all the traditional navigation features you’d expect. In addition, it takes passive data from other Waze users around you and updates traffic information and hazards. Users can post information about road conditions to a Twitter-like feed. Also, users can make corrections to maps such as add a road where there none is shown on the map or change the road type.
I’m anxious to give it a try on my trip today. Hopefully there are enough Waze users in Eastern Idaho to provide the live information I desire for a safe journey. Part II of this post will report my findings.  Until then, do you have any experience with Waze? Post it in a comment and let us know. See you on Friday.
Categories: General
  1. 10 March 2012 at 3:56 am

    I like this post, enjoyed this one thankyou for putting up.

  2. 28 February 2012 at 4:04 pm

    This is the right blog for anyone who wants to find out about this topic. You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just great!

  3. 22 February 2012 at 11:57 pm

    Really informative and excellent complex body part of articles , now that’s user pleasant (:.
    84HLUL3NT3
    Vimax Vimax
    vimax vimax
    vimax vimax
    comprar brasil vimax

  1. 24 February 2012 at 4:28 am

Leave a Reply

