Home > GeeWhiz, General > Finnish Crepes

Finnish Crepes

I don’t profess to be a food connoisseurr by any stretch of the imagination. I have, however, spent the last 20 years perfecting a crepe recipe. I can’t even begin to imagine how many crepes I’ve made over the years. Oh wait, yes I can. Let’s assume I make crepes about 30 times a year. That’s a conservative number…a little less then once a week. I make about 10-12 crepes at a sitting, we’ll say 10 for simplicity sake. 30 times 10 times 20 equals about 6000 crepes. WOW! I’m sure there are some restaurateurs out there that have cooked 100 times that number, but for a little home town boy cooking for his family, that’s a lot of crepes.

I grew up eating crepes. My maternal grandmother was from Sweden. My mom would fix them for us; we called them Swedish pancakes. After I got married, I started making them for my family and added a spice I was introduced to while serving a LDS mission in Finland, cardamom. We used to call them Finnish pancakes, but then I discovered a true Finnish pancake recipe and so now we call them by their true name, crepes.

In my home we traditionally fix crepes for breakfast, sometimes for dinner, and every now and then for dessert. For breakfast and dinner we’ll roll them up with powdered sugar and vanilla syrup, sometimes a splash of raspberry jam or even fresh fruit and whipping cream. For dessert, we’ll put in some ice cream and fruit. We frequently used pineapple on my mission. On holidays, I get really crazy. Last year on St. Patrick’s day, I added green food coloring. I’ll put red and green sprinkles on them at Christmas. Sometimes I’ve use food coloring to make two different colors of batter and make designs (faces, Christmas trees, initials, etc.) on the crepes. We have a lot of fun with them.

So, I wanted to share my “perfected” recipe with you. It is at least one thing in my life I consider excellent. It is definitely something that has been repeated (as we just discovered together) thousands of times. Enjoy.

 

Ingredients:

3 cups flour

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1 TBSP cardamom

2 eggs

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 TBSP vanilla

about 3 cups of milk

 

Add all the ingredients, except the milk, to a 4 quart bowl. In a spirit of full disclosure, I don’t measure the milk. Pour in about two cups of the milk and then beat with an electric beater. You want the batter to be just a little bit thicker than paint. It will be thinner than traditional pancake batter, but not watery. If the batter is too thick, add a little more milk until you get the right consistency.

I heat a 12 inch frying pan on the stove with the burner set to almost full high. My dial ranges from 1 to 10 and I set it on 9. Spray the pan with a light coating of Pam (even if your frying pan is Teflon coated) and put in 3/4 cups of batter. Spread it around evenly by tilting the frying pan in a circular motion until the batter covers the bottom of the pan. (I can see where a video might be handy.) If the pan is sufficiently hot, the bottom of the crepe should cook in about 60-90 seconds. It should be golden brown on the bottom. Flip the crepe over. You can use a spatula; my mom always used a butter knife with this cute little wrist twisting motion. I just toss them up in the air and catch them on the reverse side in the pan. The other side needs about 30 seconds to brown. Serve them while their hot, from the pan directly to the breakfast plate. Makes about 10-12 crepes.

 

 

  1. 10 March 2012 at 1:30 am

    I dugg some of you post as I thought they were very useful very useful

  2. 1 March 2012 at 11:07 am

    As soon as I discovered this website I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

