Home > General > Me? Interesting?

Me? Interesting?

InterestingIn my pursuit of repeating excellence, when I run across an article that begins “how to” it catches my attention and I am almost compelled to read. Such was the case with “How to be more interesting in 10 simple steps“.

Growing up, especially in grade school, I was always the wall flower. Well, I didn’t ever want to get involved, but mostly because I didn’t like to be in large groups of people. I never really out grew that. My mind tends to go into overload. There is too much information to process. Too many conversations. Too much movement. Too much to analyze. I’ve learned to deal with it over the years, particularly the last decade as I’ve come to recognize the source of my anxiety.

I never really considered myself an interesting person.  So Jessica Hagy’s article really stood out to me. The one thing that has helped me the most to feel more like I fit in is an education. I hold three associate degrees, a bachelors and an MBA. I read all the time from many different genres….except history. I don’t care much to read about the past.
I once read Team of Rivals about Abraham Lincoln’s rise to the presidency. It was a group project assigned by my boss. We all read the book and then took a retreat to discuss it. The message of the book (keep your friends close and your enemies closer) was fascinating. Lincoln’s ability to deal with conflict with such little education and next to no tact was amazing. But maybe his openness and candor were what made is methods so successful.
The presentation I once attended by the author, Doris Kearns Goodwin, was far more interesting than the book, at least for me. I searched for a link to a webcast or podcast or recording of some sort from that presentation, but could not come up with one. Check out Goodwin’s list of Lincoln’s leadership qualities.
Wow! What a digression.
As I was saying, I attribute my ability to integrate with society, or at least cope in large groups of society, to education. It gives me something to talk about. I understand more topics of conversation. I don’t profess to understand quantum physics in any depth, but I do understand some of the terminology involved and the general concept.
What is the moral of the story? Read. And repeat.
Categories: General
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

